Microscopic image of a nerve cell

Our Neuroanesthesiologists provide anesthesia care for a comprehensive spectrum of neurosurgical cases.

About 4,500 patients undergo neurosurgical procedures each year at UF Health Shands.

Surgeries span the spectrum of:


Christoph N Seubert

Christoph N Seubert MD, PhD, DABNM

Professor Of Anesthesiology And Neurosurgery; Chief, Neuroanesthesia Division
Nelson N Algarra

Nelson N Algarra MD

Associate Professor Of Anesthesiology; Asst Program Director For Clinical Operations
Lauren C Berkow

Lauren C Berkow MD, FASA

Professor Of Anesthesiology; Director Of Anesthesia Supplies And Equipment
Anatoly E Martynyuk

Anatoly E Martynyuk PhD

Professor Of Anesthesiology And Neuroscience
Basma A Mohamed

Basma A Mohamed MBChB

Assistant Professor Of Anesthesiology; Assistant Program Director, Resident Wellness
Ferenc Rabai

Ferenc Rabai MD

Assistant Professor Of Anesthesiology
Ramachandran Ramani

Ramachandran Ramani MBBS, MD

Professor Of Anesthesiology
Steven A Robicsek

Steven A Robicsek MD, PhD

Professor Of Anesthesiology, Neurosurgery, And Neuroscience; Director, Neuroanesthesiology Fellowship; Medical Director, Intraoperative Electrophysiology
Peggy A White

Peggy A White MD

Associate Professor Of Anesthesiology; Director, Multidisciplinary Adult Critical Care Medicine Fellowship

Evoked Potential Technicians

Intraoperative neurophysiological monitoring (IONM) or intraoperative neuromonitoring is the use of electrophysiological methods such as electroencephalography (EEG), electromyography (EMG), transcrainial motor evoked potentials (TcMEP) and somatosensory evoked potentials (SSEP) to monitor the functional integrity of certain neural structures (e.g., nerves, spinal cord and neural pathways) during surgery.

The purpose of IONM is to reduce the risk to the patient from intraoperative damage to the nervous system, and/or to provide functional guidance to the surgeon and anesthesiologist.  Neurosurgery, vascular surgery, orthopedic spine and ENT, are the most common places to utilize  intraoperative neuromonitoring.

Our Techs

  • William Kretzman, OR EP Tech
  • Rhonda Clark, EEG Technical Specialist
  • Linda Moss, OR EP Tech