Acute Pain Medicine

The Division of Acute Pain Medicine is a team of anesthesia attendings, fellows, residents, and nurses dedicated to treating patients suffering from acute pain.

Our Acute Pain Medicine faculty, fellows, and residents at the 2019 AAPM meeting


Our division offers a competitive and comprehensive 12-month fellowship in regional anesthesiology and acute pain medicine. We offer 6 fellowship positions per year.

Fellows are required to be licensed in the state of Florida and work as faculty one day a week. This allows us to offer fellows a better salary and other faculty benefits. We also provide fellows with non-clinical academic time to produce research and teaching output.

The ultimate goal of the fellowship program is to produce complete acute pain specialists – consultants in acute pain medicine.

Learn more about our Regional Anesthesiology & Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship.


Our division helps train anesthesiology residents at the University of Florida through all three years of their clinical residency. Resident educational objectives correlate to the resident’s year of training, allowing a continued and expanding role for residents of all levels.

During the CA1 year, residents receive an introduction to Acute Pain and Perioperative Medicine (APPM) with the main emphasis on anatomy. After the CA2 year, a resident should be very comfortable in all blocks everyday anesthesiologists would be required to do, and after their CA3 year elective rotation, residents should be very comfortable with advanced blocks and how to care for patients with these blocks, especially all continuous neuraxial, paraneuraxial, and peripheral nerve blocks.


Our division is also involved in multiple research projects involving home-based management of perineural catheters, compartment syndrome, early detection of nerve block onset, unique educational tools, and the development of new devices and methods to enhance the safety of regional anesthesia.

Through the University of Florida Office of Technology Licensing, fellows are encouraged to develop and patent commercial products for use in APPM. UF Innovate | Tech Licensing works with innovators, entrepreneurs, investors, and industry partners to maximize the potential of University of Florida innovations through commercialization for the global good.


Yury Zasimovich

Yury Zasimovich MD

Associate Professor of Anesthesiology; Chief, Acute Pain Medicine Division
Svetlana Chembrovich

Svetlana Chembrovich MD

Assistant Professor Of Anesthesiology
Barys V Ihnatsenka

Barys V Ihnatsenka MD

Associate Professor Of Anesthesiology
Federico Jimenez Ruiz

Federico Jimenez Ruiz MD

Assistant Professor Of Anesthesiology
Linda T Le-Wendling

Linda T Le-Wendling MD

Professor Of Anesthesiology; Director, Regional Anesthesiology & Acute Pain Medicine Fellowship Program
Isaac Luria

Isaac Luria MS, MD

Assistant Professor Of Anesthesiology
Olga (Kiki) Nin

Olga (Kiki) Nin MD

Associate Professor Of Anesthesiology; Assistant Chair, Clinical Services; Medical Director, Florida Surgical Center & The Oaks
Soleil Schutte

Soleil Schutte MD

Assistant Professor Of Anesthesiology
Cameron R Smith

Cameron R Smith MD, PhD

Associate Professor Of Anesthesiology
Patrick J Tighe

Patrick J Tighe MD, MS

Executive Director, Quality And Patient Safety Initiative (QPSi)
Richa Wardhan

Richa Wardhan MD, FASA

Associate Professor Of Anesthesiology