2018 Department Celebration of Research

This year’s Department of Anesthesiology Celebration of Research provided an opportunity for those affiliated with anesthesiology to share exciting research that they have conducted over the last year, their ideas for future research projects, and challenging cases they have experienced.

The Keynote Speaker, Scott Shappell, PhD, Professor and Chair of Human Factors & Behavioral Neurobiology at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, spoke about Managing Human Error in Healthcare. His talk was filled with humor and kept the audience laughing while driving home many thought-provoking points.

The abstract submissions this year presented provocative insights from a diverse group of researchers. Oral presentations were given by researchers from the three of the top-scoring abstracts.

Oral Presentation Winners

1st place oral presentation winner Abigail Schirmer
First place: Abigail Schirmer — “Break Scrub to Take that Phone Call?”
2nd place oral presentation winners Megan Koenig & Andrea Castro Cara
Second place: Andrea Castro Cara & Megan Koenig — “Real World Experience: Why Research Flatlines – A Review of Trials from the Coordinator’s Perspective”
3rd place oral presentation winners Jonathan Wakim & Monica Bursian Ortiz
Third place: Monica Bursian Ortiz & Jonathan Wakim — “Inadvertent Hypoxic-Inspired Gas Mixtures During Low-Flow Anesthesia, Including High Fire Risk Cases”

Poster Winners

Anthony Cometa, MD, and poster
Clinical Research: Anthony Cometa, MD — “When Millimeters Count, Epidural Loss of Resistance Techniques Differ: A Simulator Study”
Kevin Olsen, MD, and poster
Education: Kevin Olsen, MD — “Post-Operative Surgical Trainee Opioid Prescribing Practices (POST-OPP): A National Survey”
1st place oral presentation winner Abigail Schirmer
Basic Science: Abigail Schirmer — “Break Scrub to Take that Phone Call?”
Poster by Basma Mohamed, MBChB.
Case Study: Basma Mohamed, MBChB — “Verapamil Use in Interventional Neuroradiology: A Case Series of Postoperative Pulmonary Edema”

Thank you to everyone who attended the Celebration of Research. We look forward to next year’s event and to bringing you all the latest in anesthesiology-related research.

A special thanks to the people who made this day possible: our Chairman, Tim Morey, MD; Associate Director of Research, Bruce Spiess, MD; and our inspiration for this annual event, Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology, Jerome Modell, MD, DSc(Hon).

Click here to view all of the photos from the 2018 Celebration of Research on our Facebook page.