2024-2025 chief residents selected

We are pleased to announce the appointment of our three new chief residents for the upcoming academic year. Alex Horowitz, D.O., Bobby Houston, M.D., and Georgeanna Tsoumas, D.O., will serve from April 1, 2024 through March 31, 2025.

The position of chief resident is an important role, and members of the team are responsible for working together to support the missions of the Department of Anesthesiology, the College of Medicine, and UF Health/Shands and affiliated hospitals.

The new chiefs, selected from among those in their third year of their anesthesiology residency, have demonstrated qualities such as leadership, academic achievement, and high standards of professionalism. This challenging but rewarding role requires physicians who are organized and dependable, highly skilled communicators, and who are willing to take on the responsibility to make and implement tough and/or potentially unpopular decisions.

Nominees for the role are voted on by faculty and fellow residents, and the top three are selected as chiefs.

Please join us in congratulating Doctors Horowitz, Houston, and Tsoumas!

We would also like to acknowledge our remarkable outgoing chief residents for their consistent and steadfast leadership in the current academic year. Many thanks to Tony Barrios, M.D., Jennifer Bromwell, D.O., Paul Campbell, M.D., and Tatsiana Kryvitskaya, M.D.!

Learn more about our residency program.