10 faculty receive 2023 Exemplary Teacher Awards

We are pleased to announce that 10 Department of Anesthesiology faculty members have received the Exemplary Teacher Award for 2023.

Eligible faculty are nominated from each department and participate in a college-wide competition. Faculty are selected based on the excellence of their teaching of medical students, residents and fellows, graduate students, and post-docs, as well as mentorship of other faculty.

Special shoutouts go to Dr. Michael Arnold, Dr. Christopher Edwards, and Dr. Joshua Sappenfield, who have each won this award twice, and Dr. Juan Mora Herrera, who has won three times!

Congratulations to all and thank you for your excellent commitment to education!

Our 2023 Exemplary Teacher Award Winners

  • Michael Arnold, D.O.
  • Thomas Austin, M.D., M.S.
  • Melissa Burger, M.D.
  • Susana Cruz Beltran, M.D.
  • Christopher Edwards, M.D.
  • Patrick Millan, M.D.
  • Juan Mora Herrera, M.D.
  • Daryl Reust, M.D.
  • Joshua Sappenfield, M.D.
  • Yury Zasimovich, M.D.