Amanda Frantz, M.D., Honored with Rising Star Award at Spring Faculty Assembly

We’re thrilled to announce that Amanda Frantz, M.D., was chosen from an amazing field of clinical leaders throughout the University of Florida College of Medicine for the Rising Star award.

Dr. Frantz Rising Star Award

“It is because of you, that the bar for being a clinical leader is set high at the University of Florida,” wrote Martin Rosenthal, M.D., President of the UF College of Medicine Faculty Council, in an email to Frantz. “Our colleagues, trainees, patients, and community thank you for all you have done and will do.”

Spring Faculty Assembly '23

Frantz and several other faculty members in the Department of Anesthesiology were recognized at the College of Medicine (COM) Spring Faculty Assembly, held last Friday, April 14. The UF COM Faculty Council holds this yearly event to recognize faculty members from all departments for their commitment and achievements.

This year, the Faculty Council Wellness Committee recognized two categories of college-level wellness clinical awards: the Clinical Excellence Award and the Rising Star Award. The Rising Star Award honors exceptional early-career clinical faculty whose actions and activities have consistently exemplified clinical excellence beyond the expected level. Basma Mohamed, M.D., was also recognized at the department level for the Rising Star award.

The Clinical Excellence Award was awarded to a faculty member who epitomizes excellence in patient care, is a leader in the advancement of clinical innovations, and who has had a deep impact on patients, staff, peers and trainees. Recognized for this in the Department of Anesthesiology and in consideration for the college-level award was Timothy Martin, M.D.

Additionally, R. Victor Zhang, M.D., Ph.D.; Steven Robicsek, M.D., Ph.D.; and Yong Peng, M.D., PhD., were all awarded 20-year service pins from the College of Medicine. Samsun Lampotang, Ph.D., was awarded a 30-year service pin.

“I am continually inspired to serve this community,” said Dr. Peng, “and I look forward to continuing to share the knowledge and skills to educate the next generation of physicians.”

Spring Faculty '23 Pins
Doctors Lampotang, Peng, and Robiscek receives their service pins from Dean Colleen Koch, M.D.

At the end of the ceremony, Dr. Sylvain Doré, Ph.D, was introduced as the next UF COM Faculty Council president.

Congratulations to the Department of Anesthesiology faculty for its strong showing at the Spring assembly!

View opportunities to join our faculty.