Dr. Doré recognized for UF Faculty Senate leadership

 Congratulations to Sylvain Doré, Ph.D., FAHA, who was recently honored for his leadership and service as the 2020-21 UF Faculty Senate Chair during a reception organized by UF President Kent Fuchs, Ph.D.

Doré received a plaque and gavel in honor of his work throughout his term. Doré also gave remarks and introduced the incoming chair during the reception at the Earl and Christy Powell University House on Sept. 7.

“It was quite a year given the many challenges caused by COVID-19,” Doré said. “I am proud to have had the honor to represent the faculty and their outstanding work at UF.”

Doré, a professor of anesthesiology, neurology, psychiatry, pharmaceutics, and neuroscience, has also served as a member of the UF Board of Trustees since 2020.

The Faculty Senate is the legislative body of the University of Florida providing a forum for the mutual exchange of ideas between senior officers and faculty. In this capacity, the Senate may legislate with respect to matters that concern more than one college, school, or other major academic unit, or that are otherwise of general university interest. Elected members are apportioned among the academic units in proportion to the number of faculty members in each unit.

Doctore Dore receiving plaque for service to the faculty senate