Dr. Przkora appointed to ASA Abstract Review Subcommittee

Rene Przkora, MD

Congratulations to Rene Przkora, MD, PhD, who has been appointed to a 1-year term as a member of the American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Abstract Review Subcommittee on Chronic and Cancer Pain. The appointment will become effective Oct. 7, 2020 and conclude on Oct. 13, 2021. The committee chair will be Honorio Benzon, MD, Professor Emeritus of Anesthesiology at Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine.

As a member of this subcommittee, Dr. Przkora will be tasked with grading scientific abstracts submitted for the Annual Meeting, one of the field’s most prestigious conferences. The core work of the subcommittee occurs soon after the deadline for abstract submissions in mid- to late April. Members may also moderate one or more scientific abstract sessions onsite at the ASA annual meeting if called on by the subcommittee chair.

This year’s ASA Annual Meeting will be held Oct. 2 to 5 and is entirely virtual, including breakouts, one-on-one industry discussions, and full sessions. The keynote speaker will be Francis S. Collins, MD, PhD, a physician-geneticist known for his leadership of the international Human Genome Project.

Dr. Przkora, Professor of Anesthesiology, Chief of Pain Medicine Division, and Director of the Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship, is also President of the Association of Pain Program Directors and a junior editor for the American Board of Anesthesiology.