Mary Jane Michael elected to Secretary of International Nursing Honor Society

Mary Jane MichaelCongratulations to Mary Jane Michael, RN, MS, CCRC, Clinical Research Manager, who has been elected to a 2-year term as Secretary on the Leadership Board of Sigma Theta Tau, the International Nursing Honor Society, representing the Alpha Theta Chapter at UF.

The goal of Sigma Theta Tau is to recognize and promote nursing scholarship, leadership and service, expand and develop strategic relationships globally, and advance innovative and customized resources to develop nurse leaders.

There are roughly 500 chapters in the world representing more than 100 countries and more than 700 institutions of higher education. Membership in the organization is based on evidence of nursing scholarship. Mary Jane has been a member of the Gamma Omega Chapter for more than 30 years and moved her membership to Alpha Theta when she moved to Gainesville.

The Alpha Theta Chapter was chartered on Nov. 7, 1964 with 23 members and takes pride in its history of using knowledge, scholarship, service, and learning to improve global health. The current President is Ragnhildur Bjarnadottir, PhD, MPH.

Mary Jane joined us in 2016 from Virginia Commonwealth University School of Medicine in Richmond, where she worked as a research program manager for the Department of Anesthesiology.