Division of Pain Medicine Announces New Fellows

Congratulations to the Division of Pain Medicine, which has successfully matched all six Multidisciplinary Pain Medicine Fellowship positions for the 2020-21 academic year through the National Resident Matching Program (NRMP). The fellowship prides itself on producing physicians who are technically skilled in interventional pain management as well as poised to become leaders in the field of pain medicine, including all aspects of acute and chronic pain in ambulatory and hospitalized patients.

This year, the fellowship program received 250 applicants and conducted about 40 interviews.

Fellowship director Dr. Rene Przkora credited all members of the department for their support in this year’s success.

In addition, all residents from our program who applied for a Pain Medicine Fellowship successfully matched at competitive programs of their choice. Richa Sutaria, MD, matched with the Cleveland Clinic, Timothy Feldheim, MD, matched with Case Western Reserve University, and Alberto Bursian, MD, matched with Scott & White.

The incoming matched fellows are:

12-month fellowship

Justin Alfonso, MD, completed medical school at the American University of Antigua College of Medicine and residency at the University of Florida, Jacksonville. He was a member of multiple committees throughout his residency, including the UF Jax Pain Ideas Team, Surgical Performance Evaluation Committee, Anesthesiology Program Evaluation Committee, and the GME Committee. He also completed a quality improvement initiative providing quick and efficient assistance in emergency situations via the Anesthesia Emergency Button.

Amir Jafari, DO, completed medical school at Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University and residency at the University of Texas Medical Branch. He is a member of multiple societies, including ASRA, ASIPP, ASA, IARS, and the Society for Obstetric Anesthesia and Perinatology. He was awarded the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research (FAER) grant, elected as a FAER delegate in 2018, and traveled to the Dominican Republic for a mission trip that provided general anesthesia for underserved patients.

Tyler Kabes, MD, completed medical school at St. Louis University School of Medicine and is a current CA3 resident in our department here at UF. He has presented research at multiple conferences including the INS conference in Sydney, Australia, where he presented a unique case of nonunion fracture healing following dorsal root ganglion stimulation. He is a member of ASRA, FSA, ASA, and two honor societies.

Geoffrey Panjeton, MD, completed medical school here at UF and is a current CA3 resident in our department. He is a member of ASA, ASRA, ASIPP, AAPM, and the Spine Intervention Society. He has presented research at conferences and volunteered with multiple programs, including a recent founder of a nonprofit organization.

14-month fellowship

Tyler Craig, MD, completed medical school here at UF and is a current CA3 resident here in our department. He is a member of the American Medical Association, ASA, ASRA, and Society for Ambulatory Anesthesia. He has presented his research at multiple conferences and has presented a lecture and hands-on simulation training with undergraduate premedical students via the Residents as Teacher Program.

Joseph Mosley, DO, completed medical school at the University of Oklahoma Medical Center and residency at the Arizona College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University. He is a member of ASA and AAPM as well as a member of the Quality Assessment and Metrics Committee for his residency program. He volunteers with multiple organizations and outreach programs.