Drs. Algarra, Smith, and Zhu Receive IHAF 2018 Education Awards

Assistant Professors of Anesthesiology, Nelson Algarra, MD, Cameron Smith, MD, PhD, and Jiepei Zhu, MD, PhD, received IHAF 2018 Education Awards from the I. Heermann Anesthesia Foundation (IHAF).

The purpose of IHAF is to encourage and support scholarly pursuits designed to enhance the field of anesthesia through clinical research, laboratory research, publication, the teaching of anesthesia, and the ultimate application of such knowledge to the welfare of the patient.

Each award will fund a proposal submitted by the doctors for a year. Dr. Algarra’s award will fund his proposal titled “The Impact of Interactive Learning Software Integration into Simulation Education During Anesthesia Residency Training”. Dr. Smith’s proposal is titled “Simulator for learning the manual skills required for the placement of regional anesthetic blocks in the pterygopalatine fossa”, and Dr. Zhu’s proposal is titled “Functionalized Thiel-embalmed Cadavers as a Clinical Model for Ultrasound-Guided Regional Anesthesia Training”. 

Congratulations, Doctors!