Faculty & Residents Recognized for Exemplary Service

As the academic year came to a close, faculty and residents were acknowledged for their outstanding service at the Department of Anesthesiology’s graduation in June, 2017.

In addition to the annual awards for faculty and senior residents, division awards were handed out, for which all residents were eligible. These awards were voted on by faculty, residents and clinical staff.

Chairs Awards

These awards were selected by the chairman, Dr. Tim Morey, for contributions to education, research and quality improvement.

Best Faculty Member

Ajay Antony MD

Best Resident

Shazia Mohammad MD

Chair’s Quality Award

Peggy White MD

Chair’s Research Award

Patrick Tighe MD MS

Unsung Hero

Caleb Awoniyi MD

Chair’s Anesthetist Award

Maryam Aminzadeh AA-C


Faculty-Selected Resident Awards

These awards were voted on by the faculty based on good academic standing, professionalism, teamwork, clinical performance and demonstrated commitment to the program through participation in quality projects, research, education, or other contributions.

Outstanding Senior Resident

Meghan Brennan MD MS

Outstanding Junior Resident

Danielle Cobb MD


Division Awards

Outstanding resident selected by division faculty and clinical staff.

Acute Pain

Danielle Cobb MD


Rachel Cavenaugh MD


Meredith Whitacre MD

Critical Care Medicine

Kevin Olsen MD

Liver & Transplant

Josh Reynolds MD


Brendan Inouye MD


Rachel Cavenaugh MD

Pain Medicine

Rick Sims MD


Shazia Mohammad MD


Samantha Arzillo MD

Transition to Practice

Zach Greene MD


Meredith Whitacre MD


Residents’ Awards

Selected by popular vote by the residents.

Exceptional Resident of the Year

Kenechi Ebede MD

Distinguished Team Player

Kenechi Ebede MD


Exceptional Anesthetist of the Year

Charlie Cooper CRNA

Anesthetists’ Choice Award

Selected by popular vote by the anesthetists.

Mike Kaminsky DO

Teaching Awards

Selected by the senior residents.

T.W. Anderson Teacher of the Year

Jeff White MD

Haven M. Perkins Lifetime Teaching Award

Steve Robicsek MD PhD


Congratulations to the graduates and all who won awards! Thank you for your hard work and dedication. See our album of photos from graduation on our Facebook page.