IARS 2014 “Best of Category” Abstract for Pain Medicine Category

Matt Bzdega, MD, is a CA-1 resident in the Anesthesiology Residency Program who teamed up with his faculty advisor, Patrick Tighe, MD, MS, to submit an abstract titled “Markov Chain Modeling of Postoperative Pain State Transitions.” Their abstract was selected for the distinction of “Best of Category” for the Pain Medicine category from over 512 submitted abstracts for the International Anesthesia Research Society (IARS) 2014 Annual Meeting and International Science Symposium in Montréal, Canada.

IARS is not-for-profit medical society founded in 1922 to support scientific research and education related to anesthesia, and to improve patient care through basic research. The society maintains a global membership of more than 15,000 physicians, physician residents, and other researchers with doctoral degrees while also contributing nearly $1 million annually toward anesthesia research.