Past, Present and Future of the Department

Throughout the course of this year, the department has been in the process of moving forward in a new direction while continuing its legacy of quality patient care, research, and education. Our immediate past Chair, Dr. F. Kayser Enneking, announced that, after 5 years of dedicated service, she would resign as the Department Chair (her term officially ended on June 30th, 2013). The department established itself as a leader at  UF Health in quality management and patient safety under Dr. Enneking’s leadership. She will continue to pursue her interests in quality management and patient safety, along with making contributions in teaching and research. We are proud of all the accomplishments of the department, but perhaps most proud of our development of leaders both locally and nationally. Past, present, and future, the department is true to its mission statement: To provide an environment that develops great physician leaders through education, research, innovation, and the care of our patients and each other.

We are pleased to announce that in May of this year, Dr. Timothy E. Morey was appointed Interim Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology. Dr. Morey has  served as the Executive Associate Chairman and Associate Chair for Research since 2008.  He has been connected to Gainesville for some time, having completed his Bachelors of Science degree (with high honors), Medical Doctorate degree, and residency here at the University of Florida. His contributions in the area of research are impressive: Dr. Morey has published 75 peer-reviewed articles and has garnered grant support from industry , state, and federal funding agencies. He also holds seven patents.  He has been a member of the Nanoscience Institute for Medical Engineering Technology since 2005 and the Particle Engineering Research Center since 2003. He has wealth of experiencing working toward consensus and organizing  large groups. In his role as Vice President for the College of Medicine Faculty Council,. he chaired the Shared Governance Committee from 2006 to 2008. This committee drew up and facilitated the passage of the College of Medicine Constitution in January of 2008 by an overwhelming 93% affirmative faculty vote of . Dr. Morey brings a broad range of experience in dealing with the operations and functions of the University of Florida, and serves as an excellent fit for the leader of the department.

Thank you Dr. Enneking for your excellent leadership, and congratulations Dr. Morey to your new appointment as Interim Chair!