Anesthesia Interest Group

The University of Florida College of Medicine Anesthesia Interest Group (AIG) was created to increase awareness among students in the medical field while promoting interest in anesthesia for the entire UF Medical College.

img_4781“I want the students to be competitive and excel so they will be able to choose which residency program they get in to.  I am hoping it is our department they want to be a part of,” said AIG faculty advisor, Dr. Josh Sappenfield.

Drs. Peggy White and Joshua Sappenfield have been working with AIG for 2 years now. Although they are somewhat new to this group, they have many exciting opportunities in store for their students.

This year, Drs. White and Sappenfield advocated for an AIG officer to represent our school nationally as an ASA Medical Student Component Society Delegate. That student will then represent UF among other universities nationally at the ASA annual meeting in Chicago, IL.

AIG members are encouraged to become involved in research projects that they will finish during medical school; they are invited to attend departmental events, such as the football tailgating and golf tournaments throughout the school year; and they will be encouraged to shadow faculty members in the operating rooms.

AIG members will also be able to see patients as long as they have their UF student ID.  The AIG officers are motivated to influence and participate nationally, take on projects, and become involved in other ways to gain national recognition.

Clerkship Administration

Program Director Timothy Martin, MD, MBA, FASA  TMartin@anest.ufl.edu
Program Director Assistant Kelly Spaulding KSpaulding@anest.ufl.edu
Faculty Advisors Peggy White, MD PMann@anest.ufl.edu
Joshua Sappenfield, MD JSappenfield@anest.ufl.edu
Clerkship Directors Sean Kiley, MD SKiley@anest.ufl.edu
Chris Giordano, MD CGiordano@anest.ufl.edu
Clerkship Coordinator Breaunna Sweet BSweet@anest.ufl.edu
AIG Officers Co-Presidents: Stephen Tapia-Ruano & Christina Waples

Treasurers: Harsh Shah & Steven Toffel

For inquires about Anesthesia Interest Group meetings and involvement, find us on Facebook or email JSappenfield@anest.ufl.edu.

Visit us on Facebook! facebook